Set List, Sunday 04/25/10 Church at the Mall

Posted: April 25, 2010 in Worship Set Lists
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Currently Listening to Explosions in the Sky

Here’s our set from this morning:

“You Are” [Todd Fields]
“Salvation’s Chorus” [Todd Fields]
“Blessed Be Your Name” [Matt and Beth Redman]
“It is Well” [Todd Fields arrangement]
“Beautiful” [Phil Wickham]
INV: “Never Be the Same” [original]
“Because of Your Love” [Phil Wickham]

Today was a great time of worship for me. While I felt like we were fighting uphill trying to get everyone in the congregation on board, I was really excited about what was happening with the band and our offering to God. I felt like I was able to focus well, and that we were all giving it everything we had.

We tried a few new things this morning, and it was exciting to take some creative liberty with the arrangements and the planning. I realized after our acoustic set last week that I have not been taking many risks lately, and things (for me) had become a little stagnant. I thrive on being creative, and without that, things become routine for me, and lose their luster.

On the song “Beautiful,” which is an amazing hymn-like song with only four verse that sings about creation, redemption, and consummation, we wanted to emphasize the last verse. It sings, “When we arrive at eternity’s shore/ Where death is just a memory and tears are no more/ We’ll enter in as the wedding bells ring/ Your bride will come together and we’ll sing, You’re beautiful.” On Phil Wickham’s recording, he pulls in a choir of voices behind him, which really ties in well with the message of that verse. We don’t have a choir in our service, so we changed what we were doing to emphasize it. I went up and sang the harmony that my female vocalist normally sings, and she sang the melody an octave higher than I would. It was really a strong declaration of hope and eternity. Then, we immediately repeated it, with all the band members playing a drum. The drummer kept playing, and the bassist, guitarist, and pianist all played a floor tom to accent it. Amanda (the other vocalist) and I kept singing, and it was so powerful. I really wanted that part of the song to hit home, as Pastor Jay was preaching about dreams, and I felt that this song really expresses our greatest dream as believers.

We also introduced another new song by Phil Wickham, “Because of Your Love.” This song is a beautiful description of the gospel, and the sacrifice Jesus Christ made for us. The chorus sings, “Because of Your cross my debt is paid/ Because of Your blood, my sins are washed away/ Now all of my life I freely give/ Because of Your love, because of Your love I live.” This is a great, great new song. I highly recommend it.

It was a great day. God was glorified and exalted. I pray that more and more people come along for the journey, giving God the honor and worship He so rightly deserves!

I hope you had a great day, wherever you were worshiping.

Bill

Be sure to check out Sunday Set Lists at www.theworshipcommunity.com, where other leaders and team members share about their worship experiences this week.

Comments
  1. HL McConnell says:

    “You Are” is a great tune. We haven’t done that one in about 2 years. Good one though!

Join the Discussion!

