This Sunday was a great day of worship! God presence was very tangible in our midst, and as the Word was preached, I think people’s lives were changed. One lady was saved, and then baptized at the beginning of the next service. It was  beautiful thing to witness.

Here’s our set from yesterday:

“Kingdom” [Kristian Stanfill]
“Salvation’s Chorus” [Todd Fields]
“Our God” [Matt Redman, Jonas Myrin, Chris Tomlin, Christy Nockels]
“Jesus Messiah” [Daniel Carson, Chris Tomlin, Ed Cash, and Jesse Reeves}
“Because of Your Love” [Phil Wickham]
MESSAGE: The Psalm 119 Method for Reading and Studying the Bible – Pastor Jay
INVITATION: “Nothing But the Blood” [Matt Redman]
OFFERTORY: “Cannons” [Phil Wickham”

While there is a lot of stuff weighing heavily in my life, I felt great about this morning. It seems to me that God is most at work and most present when we are weakest and most dependent on Him. Sounds like the Scripture, doesn’t it? (2 Corinthians 12:9 (NIV): “But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”) I have witnessed the truth of that statement firsthand over the past few weeks. God is most glorified when He gets all the credit for something, not when we put on a good show and people think it’s all because of our own abilities – that’s my $0.02, at least.

Yesterday was one of those mornings. Everything did not go perfectly – the click battery died, we lost tempo a few times, etc. – but God was in the midst of it, and He was working in all of our lives. I am excited for the future as God continues to show me what it means to depend on Him completely. I am a slow-learner. I don’t struggle much with faith or trusting the Father, but I struggle greatly with depending on Him. I tend to lean toward independence. I am comfortable when the ball is in my court and I can make the decisions and make things happen. To be honest, I enjoy getting recognized  for those things, too. However, God does not receive glory when I go my own way and do things in my own strength. He receives the most glory when He is the source and the lifeline for everything we do as believers. In reality, nothing of any eternal benefit happens in our own strength. After all, it is “‘Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit,’ says the Lord Almighty” (Zech. 4:6).

I hope you had a great day of worship wherever you were.

May God bless you with the knowledge of His presence, and with complete dependence on Him, that He may receive all the glory.

Bill

p.s. be sure to check out Sunday Set Lists over at http://www.theworshipcommunity.com to see what other worshipers experienced around the globe!

Join the Discussion!

